

eu-LISA approach to EU multilingual practice

eu-LISA publishes on its website in all official languages of the institutions of the European Union, as required by the Establishing Regulation (EU No 1077/2011), its:

- annual work programmes,
- annual activity reports,
- annual budgets,
- lists of competent authorities which are authorised to search directly the data contained in the second generation Schengen Information System,
- lists of Offices of the national systems of SIS II (N.SIS II) and SIRENE Bureaux,
- list of designated authorities which have access to data recorded in the Central System of Eurodac (regarding asylum)
- eu-LISA official replies to ECA's observations to the annual accounts of the Agency.

Various public information materials such as leaflets, brochures and factsheets are published in English, French, German and Estonian due to the geographic location of the Agency. The majority of eu-LISA web content is in English in order to optimise the limited resources and make efficient use of them. The Agency introduces the linguistic diversity principle gradually dependent on the resources available and demands presented.

eu-LISA corporate documents are translated by the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union, which is located in Luxembourg and provides translation services to all EU agencies.

The official languages of the EU are Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

eu-LISA applies the temporary derogation regarding the Irish language as defined in the Council Regulation (EC) No 920/2005 of 13 June 2005 (OJ L 156, 18.6.2005, p. 3)) stating that 'the institutions of the European Union shall not be bound by the obligation to draft all acts in Irish and to publish them in that language in the *Official Journal of the European Union*', except for regulations adopted jointly by the European Parliament and the Council. This derogation has been extended for a period of five years (until 31 December 2016) by Council Regulation (EU) No 1257/2010 (OJ L 343, 29.12.2010, p. 5).